South Carolina Department of Public Safety

April 11, 2017
Contact: Lt. Kelley Hughes, 803-896-0221


COLUMBIA – The SC Department of Public Safety (SCDPS) recognized law enforcement officers and agencies Tuesday, April 11, for their efforts in 2016 to enforce the state’s DUI laws and remove impaired drivers from South Carolina roadways.


SCDPS presented awards to officers and agencies in several categories during the 12th Annual DUI Enforcement Recognition and 2016 Law Enforcement DUI Challenge Ceremonies.


The following is a complete list of winners. See SCDPS Facebook Page for complete photo ID's.


Officer of the Year (five categories based on size of agency):


  • 1-10 officers: Officer Bryan Snow, Lyman Police Department, 30 DUI arrests
  • 11-25 officers: Corporal Christopher Wilson, Port Royal Police Department, 15 DUI arrests
  • 26-50 officers: Officer Jeb Fay, Bluffton Police Department, 70 DUI arrests
  • 51-100 officers: Deputy Jarrett Greenway, Kershaw County Sheriff’s Office, 94 DUI arrests
  • 101 or more officers: Patrolman First Class Michael Intini, North Charleston Police Department, 150 DUI arrests


Rookie of the Year:

  • Officer Tyler Bishop, Walhalla Police Department, 11 DUI arrests (started on the road in April 2016)


Highway Patrol Trooper of the Year:


Highway Patrol Troop of the Year:

  • Troop 5 (Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Georgetown, Horry, Marion, Marlboro and Williamsburg counties), 2,695 DUI arrests

State Transport Police District of the Year:

  • Region 3 (Anderson, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens and Spartanburg counties)


South Carolina Law Enforcement Network Award:

  • 15th Circuit Law Enforcement Network (Georgetown and Horry counties)


Agency of the Year (five categories based on size of agency):


The following special presentations were also awarded:


AAA Carolinas Pedestrian Safety Award:


MADD Drug Recognition Expert of the Year:

  • Corporal Jake McCoy, University of South Carolina Police Department


MADD Barry Barnett DUI Prosecutor of the Year:



The South Carolina Department of Public Safety includes the Highway Patrol, State Transport Police, Bureau of Protective Services, Office of Highway Safety and Justice Programs, Immigration Enforcement Unit and the South Carolina Law Enforcement Officers Hall of Fame. Our mission is to ensure public safety by protecting and serving the people of South Carolina and its visitors.
FOLLOW SCDPS ON:facebook, twitter, instagram SCDPS on Facebook SCDPS on Twitter SCDPS on Instagram
SCDPS on Facebook SCDPS on Twitter SCDPS on Instagram