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SOUTH CAROLINA STATE TRANSPORT POLICE 

AUTOMATIC DISQUALIFIERS 
 

Please read the following information carefully before applying. The list below includes the South Carolina 
State Transport Police’s automatic disqualifiers. If you meet any of these, you are disqualified from 
employment. 
 
¦ Under 21 years of age at the time when recruits report to training academy 
¦ Not a United States Citizen 
¦ No High School Diploma or G.E.D. 
¦ Dishonorable Discharge from the military 
¦ Convicted of any crime punishable by imprisonment in a federal or a state prison 
¦ Arrested for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and/or Drugs within the past 5 years 
¦ Any conviction of Criminal Domestic Violence 
¦ Drivers license currently suspended, revoked, or more than six points currently assessed     against your 
license 
¦ *A tattoo, brand, piercing or body art that can be seen while in short sleeve patrol uniform 
¦ Cannot meet minimum vision and hearing standards 
¦ Sold any illegal drugs or controlled substances (including prescription drugs) 
¦ Any felony conviction (whether convicted as a juvenile or an adult) 
¦ Used and/or experimented with marijuana within the past 2 years 
¦ Used and/or experimented with steroids within the past 5 years 
¦ Used and/or experimented with controlled substance within the past 10 years 
 
* Note on Tattoos, Piercings, and Brands: 
Body Piercings which are visible anytime while on duty and/or in uniform are prohibited. This does not apply to piercing 
of the ear lobes on female officers.  
Tattoos and/or Brands are not allowed to be visible while in any uniform of the South Carolina State Transport Police. If 
an applicant chooses to remove his or her tattoo or brand at his or her own expense, the applicant can continue in the 
hiring process. It is important to remember that the removal of the tattoo or brand must be completed prior to day one of 
the academy and the removal does not necessarily guarantee you an offer of employment. 
 

CREDIT STANDARDS 
The credit history and financial conditions of the applicant will be reviewed. Credit history will not be a sole 
basis for disqualification. Below is a list of minimal credit standards. 
¦ An unsatisfied judgment 
¦ An unpaid State or Federal tax lien 
¦ Accounts written off as bad debt with a remaining balance 
¦ Accounts turned over to a collection agency with a remaining balance 
¦ Voluntary or involuntary repossessions with a remaining balance 
¦ A student loan in default 
¦ An account with a payment 120 days past due with a remaining balance 
¦ A foreclosure account with a remaining balance 
¦ An account “included in bankruptcy” with a remaining balance 
Applicants who are given the opportunity to review their credit reports may submit documentation which 
indicates that they have taken responsibility for the accounts in question. (For example, paid in full 
receipts/letters, payment plan letters) 
 



SALARY 
 

Rank Officer Trainee Officer Officer First Class Senior Officer Lance Corporal 
Time  Basic Training Graduation 1 1/2 Years 2 1/2 Years 5 Years 
Salary $29,910  $31,154  $34,269  $37,695  $39,579  

 
 
** If you are a South Carolina law enforcement class I certified applicant your pay will be $31,154 from 
day one of patrol school academy training. ** 
 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
1. What are the residence requirements for the State Transport Police? 
Your application will ask if you are willing to accept employment anywhere in the state of South Carolina YES or NO. If 
you select YES, you will be placed in the areas of the state which have the highest need for officers at the particular time 
in which you are applying. If you select NO, you will then be given a chance to list up to 5 counties in which you are 
willing to work. If there are openings in the counties which you listed and you are selected for employment you will be  
assigned to one of those counties.  
 
IF YOU ARE SELECTEDFOR EMPLOYMENT, WHETHER YOU CHOOSE YES OF NO, YOU MUST RESIDE 
WITHIN YOUR ASSIGNED DISTRICT 
 
2. What will life at the training academy be like? 
Life at the academy will consist of 17 weeks of intense training which will be physically, academically, and mentally 
challenging. The academy is geared in a paramilitary setting with weekly academic testing and daily physical training. 
You attend the academy Sunday night until Friday afternoon, giving you the weekends off. (You will need to find housing 
on the weekends as the academy is closed from Friday afternoons until Sunday night) 
 
3. How long does the application process take? 
On average the hiring process takes four to six months to complete. 
 
4. Will my out of state law enforcement certification allow me to lateral in? 
No, out of state certifications are not recognized. South Carolina current class I certified officer certifications ARE 
recognized and those officers will only have to attend 5 weeks of the training academy. 
 
5. If I do have a visible tattoo, can I have it removed and be hired? 
Yes, if you choose to have your tattoo medically removed, you must understand this will be done at your own expense. The 
tattoo must be fully removed prior to day one of the academy. The removal however, simply allows you to continue in the 
hiring process and does not necessarily guarantee you employment. 
 
6. Will my starting salary change based on my education achievements or prior 
certifications or experience? 
No, all applicants start at the same pay regardless of education or training experience. 
 
7. Do I need E-mail to apply? 
Yes, the entire hiring process is web-based and paperless. All appointments, assignments and correspondence are done 
through your valid e-mail address. 
 


