FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

September 10, 2003
CONTACT: SID GAULDEN, 803-896-8755

HP ENFORCEMENT UNIT HELPS KEEP 
UNINSURED DRIVERS OFF THE ROAD
COLUMBIA -- The South Carolina Department of Public Safety Highway Patrol division formed an insurance enforcement unit one year ago, comprised of retired troopers, to address the growing problem of uninsured drivers on South Carolina highways. In less than a year, the unit has cleared nearly 30,000 cases for driving uninsured, either by seeing that the driver obtained insurance or by confiscating tags. 
It is estimated that nearly 28 percent of motorists in South Carolina drive uninsured, making South Carolina one of the worst states in the nation for uninsured drivers.

“The insurance enforcement team was built from scratch with no prior model,” said Col. Russell Roark, Highway Patrol Commander. “These troopers have one specific task and goal, and that’s getting uninsured drivers off our roads. Their current 93 percent clearance rate on cases shows that they are doing that job very effectively.”

The unit’s primary focus is tracking down drivers that the DMV Project Phoenix system shows as suspended for lapse in insurance coverage. South Carolina law mandates that when a vehicle is no longer insured that the vehicle owner immediately obtain insurance on the vehicle or within five days after the effective date of cancellation or expiration of the liability insurance policy surrender the motor vehicle license plate and registration certificate. 
When DMV receives notification from insurance companies that a policy is canceled or otherwise terminated on a registered motor vehicle, DMV will suspend the license plate and registration certificate. If the license plate has not been surrendered in five days of the cancellation notice, troopers will begin their job tracking down the license plate and registration certificate, which will not be reissued until DMV receives satisfactory evidence by the owner or insurance company that the vehicle is insured. Motorists can face a reinstatement fee of $200 plus an additional $5 per diem charge per day if they do not surrender their license plate within the five days after cancellation of their policy.
The 30 troopers canvass the state each day with a list in hand of suspended license plates for failure to maintain insurance. The trooper will make a visit to the last known address. If the driver is there, the trooper will immediately confiscate the tag and charge the driver with possession of a suspended tag or failure to surrender a suspended vehicle tag. 
If the driver is not there, the trooper will leave an official form telling the motorist where the nearest DMV is located and giving the motorist a deadline to return the tag. 

Before motorists are visited by a trooper, they have already been contacted by their insurance company and DMV to let them know that their insurance has been cancelled and that their license plate has been suspended. After being contacted by a trooper, the motorist may pay a reinstatement fee to get a new license plate or surrender their tag and their ability to drive that motor vehicle until they have proved liability insurance coverage, paid reinstatement fees and obtained a new tag. 
“Uninsured drivers do not fit a profile,” said Capt. W.S. Reid, who oversees the unit. “They could be anyone from an upstanding member of the community to a repeat offender; the bottom line, however, is that uninsured motorists drive up insurance costs for us all and often present a danger on our highways.” 
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