If you do not see what you are looking for, please contact a recruiter.
|1. What county will I be assigned to if hired?
All assignments are based on the critical needs of the Patrol at that time. During the application process you will be given the opportunity to choose up to five counties you would prefer to work in. You will still need to meet the residency requirements, which state that you must live within 30 miles of the post you are assigned to. You may also choose to be assigned to “ANY” county, at which point the Highway Patrol will place you in the most critical needs area at that time.
|2. I have a tattoo on my forearm; does your agency allow any type of waiver or use of long sleeve cover up or wearing of long sleeve uniform year round?
Any tattoo below the elbow, or on neck or face, is an automatic disqualifier. We do not offer any kind of exception or waiver to that policy.
|3. How long does the application process take?
The application process takes anywhere from 2-6 months, depending on when you get started in the process.
|4. When is the deadline to apply?
There is no deadline to apply, however it's best to get started in the process as soon as you are ready. We have multiple classes every year. Based on your needs and the timeframe in which you apply, you will be placed in the class that best suits you.
|5. I applied a few weeks ago and haven’t heard anything back yet, how long before I will hear something back?
Be sure to check your spam and junk folders for the secondary application. Our email address is a .gov account, so it is common for our emails to go to these folders. If you still haven’t received anything, please contact us and we can check on your application status. The email you listed on the state application is the email we will reply to, be sure to notify us if your email address changes. You can always contact us at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
|6. I have listed all my previous employers on my application however I can’t remember some of the names and/or numbers for them, is this information needed?
Yes, a complete and accurate application will assist in your moving through the process more easily. If it is incomplete, it might delay you from moving to the next phase. List all needed information on the application and don’t leave any blanks or unknowns. The majority of the reasons why applications fail to move forward is because some applicants leave multiple blanks on their applications. You must list a complete employer history with company names, phone numbers, supervisors, and all other details. Without this, applications cannot be processed.
|7. Will I receive pay and benefits during training?
Yes, you will start receiving your pay and benefits the first day you report to training.
|8. How long is the basic training and is it all week long?
Training for non-certified applicants is currently 21 weeks long and you will be there from Sunday evening through Friday afternoon. No one can stay on the grounds during the weekend. Training for already Certified South Carolina Law Enforcement Class 1 Officers is 9 weeks.
The South Carolina Department of Public Safety is an internationally accredited agency.
Copyright (c) 2013 The South Carolina Department of Public Safety. All rights reserved.
10311 Wilson Boulevard, Post Office Box 1993 Blythewood, SC 29016 | Contact SCDPS at WebMaster@scdps.gov